26 Comments
Nov 30, 2021Liked by Kate McKean

These newsletters are incredible. Thank you so much for all the resources and all the pep-talks. I have to smile a lot as I read your words of recognition - yes, I want it to be easy; I want an agent/publisher just to recognize how great my book is and voila! it'll be published - easy peasy. I'm 54 still slogging away at this, constantly debating whether to quit. But seriously, your newsletters make me feel less like a loser, less like giving up - having a sense of humour about it all. I will become a paid subscriber - your wisdom is cheaper than therapy! Thank you.

Expand full comment

I’m curious to hear everyone’s thoughts on the relationship between reading and writing. Do you read mostly within or outside of the genre you write in? How has writing changed your relationship with reading? Do you read less when you’re writing a lot and vice versa?

Expand full comment

Hi Kate! I just subscribed to your newsletter and I'm so excited. It seems like it'll be a great resource--so thank you in advance for what I'm sure will be lots of wisdom. I'm not at the point where I'm ready to query, but I'm hoping that in the next year or so, I will be. I am interested in writing a range of things (from memoir to lit fic to science fiction/fantasy to short story) and I was wondering if, when I do get to the point of querying, will I be looking for an agent who can represent all my various interests/genres or would I want to have different agents? Is it common for writers to have more than one agent? Thanks!

Expand full comment

Hi Kate!

I stopped working on of my novel (draft 3) during the summer when I started interviewing for jobs. Now I'm trying to navigate my new job, sitting long hours at the computer (besides planning a move across the ocean) and it's honestly exhausting ...so I find it hard to start writing again. Do you have any advice on how to get back into the groove without burning myself out to death?

Also, thank you for this newsletter! Every time it pops in my inbox it's giving me a much-needed reminder that I once used to be busy writing a book.

Expand full comment

First of all: thanks for sharing so much insider knowledge with the rest of us! Your newsletter has been such a great way to learn and connect with the writing world, especially as someone with a corporate career. I loved your "Five Years and Six Drafts" post, especially as a writer nearing 40(!) who has *twice* come painfully close to selling a novel. In 2022, I'll be making attempt number 3, so more stories about perseverance and endurance are always appreciated!

Expand full comment

Will you be opening for queries in 2022?

Expand full comment

Thank you for this great roundup Kate! I will go back and catch up on some posts I missed.

Expand full comment

Why is "going viral" to sell a book emphasized so much by some people?

Expand full comment